Topic Options
#49033 - 07/31/10 08:15 PM staying in tempo
pianoelf Offline

Hi,I am 30 years old and started piano about 14 years ago. I am studying for my Associate diploma (English professional performance qualificaton). Unfortunately I have always had trouble feeling the beat and vary the speed as I go. I can play with the metronome fine and clap but can't feel anything inside when I play. I can hear when others play in or out of time but not myself. I sometimes get away with it on Romantic style music that requires rubato but I can't keep Classical such as the Mozart Sonata K.309 steady so it ruins the effect. When I try to feel the beat I get 'vertical' sounding playing. I have had several piano teachers including famous conservatoire ones and they don't know what to do. I have Asperger's. Any suggestions?

#49039 - 08/01/10 03:32 PM Re: staying in tempo [Re: pianoelf]
shannonspiano Offline
Mainstay Member

Loc: WI
Have you tried tapping one hand as the beat while the other is playing? Another thing I find useful is recording myself- then making arrow notations on the score. -> faster <- hold back

#49040 - 08/01/10 04:16 PM Re: staying in tempo [Re: shannonspiano]
pianoelf Offline

I have tried tapping one hand but I tend to start bearting in tme with the playing instead of playing in time with the beat! However I think it could really help to record myself. I will give it a go. Thanks very much for the advice.
Virginia

#49043 - 08/02/10 02:30 PM Re: staying in tempo [Re: pianoelf]
Jala Pepper Offline
Resident Member

Loc: USA
I suggest a lot of duet and ensemble performance experience. Having to keep time with everyone else helped me much more than the metronome ever did. It started out with my piano teacher making me play duets with her for church offertories. From there it went to me accompanying various vocal soloists and groups, including church choir. Hope this helps!

#49050 - 08/03/10 09:46 AM Re: staying in tempo [Re: Jala Pepper]
pianoelf Offline